Johanna Shick, Chief Executive Officer

Johanna Shick

Johanna joined SJCERA in January 2017. As CEO, she works closely with the Retirement Board on administrative, financial and investment matters, and is responsible for translating Board policy into action. Prior to coming to SJCERA, Johanna was Assistant Administrator/Chief Benefits Officer for the San Diego County Employees Retirement Association, and held management roles with the Washington State Department of Retirement Systems. She serves on the Board of Directors of the California Association of Public Retirement Systems (CALAPRS) and the San Joaquin County Equal Employment Opportunity Advisory Committee. Johanna holds a Bachelor's degree from Pomona College, a Master's degree from City University, and is a graduate of the Wharton School's Portfolio Concepts and Management, and UC Berkeley's Modern Investment Theory and Practice.


Brian McKelvey, Assistant Chief Executive Officer

Brian McKelvey

Brian joined SJCERA in January 2022.  As ACEO, he provides leadership and oversight to SJCERA's Member Services, Finance and IT teams. Prior to coming to SJCERA, Brian was the Retirement Information Technology Director for the San Diego County Employees Retirement Association and brings more than 20 years of experience in state and local pension administration. Brian has a Bachelor's degree from California State University, Chico in Business Administration.



Member Services Team

  • Melinda DeOliveira: Supervisor, Active Benefits
  • Ron Banez: Retirement, Domestic Relation Orders (DROs)
  • Andrea Bonilla: Service Purchases, Estimates, Active Benefits (Refunds), Disability Retirement
  • Bethany Vavzincak: Active Benefits, Terminations, Deferred, Outgoing Reciprocity
  • Vickie Monegas: Active Benefits, New Member Processing, Incoming Reciprocity
  • Kathleen Goodwin: Retiree Payroll, Survivor Benefits
  • Margarita Arce: Retiree Payroll, Survivor Benefits
  • Leonor Gonzalez: Retiree Payroll, Retiree Health Insurance

Administrative Team

  • Paris Ba: Investment Officer
  • Greg Frank: Management Analyst III
  • Kendra Fenner: Communications Officer
  • Elaina Petersen: Administrative Secretary

Finance Team

  • Carmen Murillo: Financial Officer
  • Eve Cavender: Investment Accountant
  • Marissa Smith: Accounting Technician I

IT Team

  • Adnan Khan: Information Systems Manager
  • Lolo Garza: IT Systems Analyst II
  • Jordan Regevig: IT Systems Specialist II